The Diels-Planck-Lecture 2017

The Diels-Planck-Lecture 2017 is awarded to Prof. Dr.-Ing. Aldo R. Boccaccini from the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU).


The lecture will be held on Wednesday, 7th June 2017, 6:30 pm, in the framework of the 3rd Euro Intelligent Materials 2017 in Kiel. The title of this year’s lecture is “Bioactive Materials and Biofabrication for Regenerating Tissues: Progress and Challenges”

Aldo R. Boccaccini receives the award as a distinguished expert for the field of biomaterials with a focus on application in life sciences.

Aldo R. Boccaccini is director of the Institute of Biomaterials at the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU). He is also Visiting Professor at the Imperial College London, at the Nagoya Institute of Technology, at the RWTH Aachen Unversity and at the Universidad Nacional del Cuyo (Argentina).

About the Diels-Planck-Lecture

The Diels-Planck-Lecture honors the founders of nano science in Kiel, the Nobel laureates Max Planck und Otto Diels. It is awarded annually to an outstanding scientist and established leader in the field of nano and surface science. Nominations are assessed by the members of the research focus “Kiel Nano Surface and Interface Science (KiNSIS)”. The Diels-Planck lectures are open to the public.

Max Planck was born 1858 in Kiel and was appointed as professor of theoretical physics by the University of Kiel in 1897. In 1918 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for his groundbreaking work on quantum theory, which is the fundamental theory to describe nanostructures.

Otto Diels was professor of chemistry at the University of Kiel from 1915 until his retirement in 1945. Together with his graduate student Kurt Alder he discovered and developed a class of chemical reactions that was later coined Diels-Alder reaction which is one of the most powerful methods to synthesize chemical compounds including nanomaterials. Otto Diels was awarded the Nobel Price in Chemistry in 1950.

Back to newsletter
This newsletter is published by Deutschen Gesellschaft für Materialkunde e.V. (Imprint)